Sunday, March 29, 2009

No Pedicures in 09

So I was having a conversation with my coworker today while reading Esquire magazine. There was a section of the magazine that dealt with helping men get in style for this spring. One of the tips for men involved how to wear sandals without embarassement. It listed a few tips on how a man should take better care of his feet.

Now I had always assumed that a simple toe nail clipping was enough whenever necessary. However, my coworker, a female, and I became involved in a lengthy debate about how well a man should treat his feet. She said that a man should go for a pedicure treatment at least once a month. I told her that was ridiculous. There is no reason why a man needs his feet looking dainty and well groomed. So what if I have a callous on my foot while wearing sandals. I don't care. She continued to argue that men should take care of themselves therefore a woman wouldn't be afraid to look. I told her there's no reason for a woman to be observing a man's feet. Frankly, I don't feel that feet are attractive at all. If you aren't a guy who is going to expose your feet publically then I don't see a point in a man getting a pedicure. I know for a fact that I will never be coerced into getting a pedicure by anybody.

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Opening Up

This current post is not really a rant, rave, or ridicule. This entry is going to deviate from what I typically do in this blog. In fact, this entry is going to talk about something I've just begun doing and I am hoping to continue to do more of.

The other week I realized that one of my biggest character flaws is an unwillingness to open up and trust people. It's essentially a defense mechanism that I've developed and employed since I was a young child. However, I'm 23 years old and surrounded by adults. I feel that by this point the majority of people around are mature enough and frankly, I should be mature enough to handle all situations that come my way. Since that realization, I have begun to open more frequently to people about problems that are plaguing me. The list of people includes very close friends, fairly new friends, and even my grandmother. Although, everyone should be able to open up to a grandmother because they are at that point where they are a mecca of knowledge and wisdom.

Anyway, since I've been opening up about all things positive and negative I have felt more relieved. Initially, I began to use this blog as an outlet for my frustation, but I've since expanded to being more personal with people. It's definitely been a good thing. All in all, I was able to deconstruct myself and turn one of my flaws into a positive aspect.

In the end, it is my hope that I was able to open your minds to some new ways of thinking and feel free to contact me for future discussions.

Opposing Forces

Now everyone knows the classic line of "opposites attract." I believe that statement to be true, but I feel there must be both similarities and differences between two people. If the relationship is based on either extreme, then it is more than likely going to fail. Based on the aforementioned statements, I am going to rant about certain differences prohibiting individuals from testing the possibilities of their relationships.

When we all meet somebody for the first time, you are either attracted or unattracted to them for whatever reason. It's just a natural thing. If there is an attraction there, then one party or the other pursues it and attempts to continue to forge a connection with the individual. It is through this pursuit that the two individuals either find a compatibility for one another on a romantic level, friendship level, or in fact, none at all. It all really hinges upon the personalities of both people. However, I am going to specifically talk about the ability or actually the inability to pursure a more romantic relationship because of an unwillingness to accept one aspect of the other person.

I feel it is completely ridiculous to not attempt even the beginnings of a relationship because of an unwillingness to accept. I'm not attempting to say that one person's views, beliefs, or feelings are inherently wrong and and should be ignored. I feel that if two people are able to connect on a variety of levels, then they should be able to accept one another for certain aspects of their lives that they feel a strong way towards. It would be terrible to not allow yourself an opportunity with somebody whom you find that can relate to you on any level.

My opponents will argue that if two people have such opposing views on a specific belief they feel so strongly toward that it is not worth being with that person. While I can understand that perspective, it is not sensible. All relationships need some form of conflict and difference to enhance the relationship. Couples learn and grow from one another and from the ideas that they offer one another. A relationship between two similar people grows tiring. Additionally, a relationship that is bound by one common interest while every other aspect of the relationship is dissimilar is lackluster. My belief is that two people who can relate on multiple levels, but also differ on multiple levels have the beginnings of something special. However, it is important that the two people have the ability to accept one another's differences as opposed to writing them off because of those differences.

Overall, it is my hope that I was able to stir about some thought through this entry. If anyone finds themselves in this situation, then I hope that you are able to see my point of view and search for more acceptance. It would be wrong to miss out on something because you were unwilling to see a person because you can't bring yourself past certain primitive ideals.
As always, feel free to comment here or contact me in any way for a discussion.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Mommy, can you buy me a new outfit?

Alright, so I encountered a mother and son pair at work that really made angry and inspired this current rant.
So it was a slow day in the store and I was desperate for sales. This slob of a man walks into the store and he looks completely lost. This grotesque, overweight man stood there wearing his unlaced Tims, extra baggy jeans, Roca Wear jacket with fur trimmed hood, and fitted, completely bewildered by the fact that he was standing in a store that sold khakis, polos, and other formal wear for men. I walk over to him and asked if he needed help. He tells me that he is looking for khakis that will not wrinkle. I direct him over to where we have those pants and he hurriedly walks to the wall. Then his elderly mother saunters over with her make-up perfectly done and hair curled up ever so classy. She explains to me that her son needs some pants that can take a beating because she is tired of buying him new pants that do not last. I reassure her that she has come to the right place, but I inquire as to what her son does for a profession. She tells me that her son does not need the pants for work, but to go "clubbin." As soon as she tells me that, I think to myself, "What the hell is going on here?" However, all she saw me do was smile in agreeance and say, "Oh."
Now this whole incident pissed me off. I cannot even fathom the concept of being in my late 20's or early 30's and having my mother buy clothes for me, especially clothes she feels I should go out in. I have been on my own for so long and handling my own business for so many years that I wouldn't want to be treated that way. In fact, I've been keeping my family afloat instead of the other way around. A lifestyle such as that would break them.
Really though, I know this is not an isolated incident. There are way more of these coddled, overprotected slobs out in this world who have no idea how to live for themselves. This is one of the problems with society. Guys like this are still suckling at the teet of mom and dad and are unwilling to let go. What makes this even worse? These are probably the guys who have the utmost confidence in themselves, yet have nothing going for them. It's quite sickening.
Well, it appears I'm done ranting and ridiculing these losers, but I have come up with a question for anyone reading this. How can somebody go through life living for nothing?